Sitkovetsky Trio

Alexander Sitkovetsky – violin, Danjulo Ishizaka – cello, Wu Qian – piano

Sitkovetsky Trio

Saturday 22 July 2017, 8pm

RACHMANINOFF – Trio élégiaque No.1, SHOSTAKOVICH – Piano Trio No.2 Op.67, SKIPWORTH – Piano Trio, MENDELSSOHN – Piano Trio No.1 Op.49.

First prizewinners of the International Commerzbank Chamber Music Award 2008 and recipients of the NORDMETALL Chamber Music Award at the Mecklenburg Vorpommern Festival 2009, the Sitkovetsky Trio was formed in 2007 and has since emerged as one of the outstanding Trios of today. Their dynamic, high-energy performances as well as their thoughtful and committed approach have brought the ensemble numerous awards and critical acclaim.

Compelling, with a palpable sense of elation


Andrey Gugnin - piano

Andrey Gugnin – piano

Andrey Gugnin

Friday 4 August 2017, 8pm

BACH – Adagio in G Major BWV 968, SCHUBERT – Piano Sonata No.17 in D Major D.850, SHOSTAKOVICH – Piano Sonata No.1 Op.12, DESYATNIKOV – Reminiscences of the Theatre, HARVEY – 48 Fugues for Frank Zappa No.6: G-Spot Tornado, STRAVINSKY – Trois Mouvements de Pétrouchka

“The Russians have got it!” announced the Sydney International Piano Competition’s Artistic Director Piers Lane as he got down to the final two competitors. 29-year-old Andrey Gugnin was announced as the winner of the First Prize.

The 2016 Competition has proved a vintage year in many ways and in Andrey Gugnin we have found a glorious ambassador and star pianist

Piers Lane